Home Page

Year 5 & 6

Use the link below to find out more about the Numeracy and Literacy Tests.


Cornerstones Primary Curriculum is a fresh, exciting and creative approach to learning. It is based on the four cornerstones of Teaching and Learning:

  1. Engage
  2. Develop
  3. Innovate
  4. Express


During the Engage stage children will :-
• have memorable first-hand experiences - for example going on a visit outside the classroom or inviting a specialist visitor into the classroom
• be introduced in exciting ways to the new topic or theme
• begin initial research and set enquiry questions
• have a great deal of fun, allowing them to fully 'engage' with their new topic

During the Develop stage children will :-
• dig much deeper to develop their skills, knowledge and understanding of a topic across the curriculum
• compose, make, do, build, investigate, explore, write for different purposes, read across the curriculum


During the Innovate stage children will :-
• apply previous skills, knowledge and understanding in real life contexts
• be challenged with real or imagined problems and situations to solve using knowledge and skills from the earlier stages
• be inspired with imaginative and creative opportunities

During the Express stage children will :-
• become the performers, the experts, the informers
• share their achievements with others in many different ways

• evaluate finished products/processes
• celebrate their learning


Please talk to your child about their work and if you can help in any way please talk to a member of staff.



Topic Map for Year 5 and 6








Year A

Heroes and Villains


What a Wonderful



Summer Camp

Scream Machine


Year B

Bend and Flow




Skin Deep

More than Mods and Rockers